Awards Details

William L. Saunders Gold Medal Award
The William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal, established in 1927, and funded by AIME, recognizes distinguished achievement in mining other than coal. Mr. Saunders would not allow his name to be considered for this award.
Award Description
William Lawrence Saunders was born in 1856 in Columbus, GA, the son of Episcopal minister William Trebell Saunders and Eliza Morton of Virginia. He graduated from the University of Pennsylvania. As a young man, Saunders invented the apparatus for underwater drilling and became wealthy as a result of his equipment being used in the Russian oil fields. He was the founding editor of Compressed Air magazine and published two textbooks on compressed air. In 1904, he became president of the Ingersoll Sergeant Drill Co. after the death of William Russell Grace. He became the first president of the now combined Ingersoll Rand in 1906. As the twice-elected mayor of North Planfield, NJ, he campaigned for woman's right to vote.

During World War I, Saunders was chair of the Naval Consulting Board, which collected inventions and ideas from engineers and inventors to be used in the war effort. He also served as the 1915 president of AIME and deputy chairman of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. He died in 1931.

William Lawrence Saunders Award Conditions for Nomination
1. There are no limitations regarding nationality, membership in the Society, or otherwise. All other factors being equal, it is suggested that preference be given to members of the Society.
2. A candidate must be a living or passed away prior to May 1st of the nomination year.
3. No AIME Major Award winner is eligible to be nominated for another AIME Major Award until 9 years shall have elapsed, and the nomination support package shall conspicuously reference work in a new field or significant new accomplishments in the field for which the original award was made. (The AIME Major Awards are the Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal, Robert Earll McConnell? Award, James Douglas Gold Medal, Hal Williams Hardinge Award, Erskine Ramsay Medal, Robert H. Richards Award, William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal, Benjamin F. Fairless Award and Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal.)

AIME Board members are exempt from receiving AIME awards.
Additional Information
Nomination for this award is currently closed.


An error has occurred. An error has occurred.