Awards Details

Erskine Ramsay Award
The Erskine Ramsay Medal was established in 1948 to recognize distinguished contributions to the advancement of coal mining, both bituminous coal and anthracite.
Award Description
Erskine Ramsay (1864-1953) graduated from Saint Vincent College in Latrobe, PA in 1883. By age 20, he was the superintendent of H.C. Frick Coke Co.'s Monastery mines and coal works, which produced the third largest amount of coal in Pennsylvania. He then joined the Tennessee Coal, Iron and Railroad Co. at its Pratt Mines near Birmingham,AL and, in 1895, became the assistant general manager. An avid inventor, Ramsay was granted his first patent in 1897, for a coal and mineral washer. Subsequent inventions centered on improvement in the coal-mining process and in the safety of miners. Ramsay was involved in the design of a mine car with a safety cage and an automatic car stop.

Other inventions include the rotary car dump, the swivel coupling, the use of shaking screens and improved washers.The latter two inventions improved the process of removing coal from other minerals in a more efficient manner.

Ramsay served as head of the Republican National Committee and, in 1911, was appointed by the U.S.Bureau of Mines as member of a commission to study coal-mining methods in Europe. During World War I, he served on the Committee on Coal Production. He received the William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal in 1937.

Erskine Ramsay Award Conditions for Nomination
Members of the current award committee are not eligible to receive the award during their term of service on the award committee.
There are no limitations regarding nationality, membership in the Institute, or otherwise, but preference is given to members.
A candidate must be a living or passed away prior to May 1st of the nomination year and willing to present himself in person to receive the award.
No AIME Major Award winner is eligible to be nominated for another AIME Major Award until 9 years shall have elapsed, and the nomination support package shall conspicuously reference work in a new field or significant new accomplishments in the field for which the original award was made. (The AIME Major Awards are the Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal, Robert Earll McConnell? Award, James Douglas Gold Medal, Hal Williams Hardinge Award, Erskine Ramsay Medal, Robert H. Richards Award, William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal, Benjamin F. Fairless Award and Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal.)
AIME Board members are exempt from receiving AIME awards.
Additional Information
Nomination for this award is currently closed.


An error has occurred. An error has occurred.