Awards Details

James Douglas Gold Medal
The James Douglas Gold Medal (Douglas Award) recognizes distinguished achievement in non-ferrous metallurgy, including both the beneficiation of ores and the alloying and utilization of nonferrous metals.
Award Description
The Douglas Award was established by AIME in 1922 in memory of James Douglas, industrialist, mining and metallurgical engineer, inventor of metallurgical equipment, author, and founder of the Phelps Dodge Corporation. He was the donor of the AIME James Douglas Library Fund, the income of which is specifically earmarked for the support of the Engineering Societies Library, situated in the United Engineering Center in New York City. Dr. Douglas was AIME President in 1899 and 1900 and received AIME Honorary Membership in 1906.

If a committee member is nominated, they will either find a replacement committee member so that they can resign for the year or remove their nomination until their term is up.

AIME Board members are exempt from receiving AIME awards.
AIME James Douglas Gold Medal Award Conditions for Nomination
1. There are no eligibility limitations regarding nationality or membership in the society, though preference is given to society members.
2. Candidate must be living or passed away prior to May 1st of the nomination year.
3. No AIME Major Award winner is eligible to be nominated for another AIME Major Award until 9 years shall have elapsed, and the nomination support package shall conspicuously reference work in a new field or significant new accomplishments in the field for which the original award was made. (The AIME Major Awards are the Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal, Robert Earll McConnell? Award, James Douglas Gold Medal, Hal Williams Hardinge Award, Erskine Ramsay Medal, Robert H. Richards Award, William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal, Benjamin F. Fairless Award and Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal.)
Additional Information
Nomination for this award is currently closed.


An error has occurred. An error has occurred.